Does Karma Exist?

Does Karma Exist?

Like many people I have often responded to a bad situation with the words “karma will catch up with them” but does karma work that way?

In the last few years I don’t think it does, not in a negative way anyway.  Karma works like many spiritual beliefs, in a quiet, often subtle way.  There are no big bangs, no burning at the stake, just subtle hints, or in my case not so subtle hints, that will push is into the direction we should be moving to be a happier more whole person.   I have learnt that if we don’t take the hint, if we don’t see the signs then we just keep repeating our lessons in karma until we finally get it!

For instance, in the last 4 years I had been unhappy, not crying in the corner or miserable just not particularly happy.

My experience with karma and spirituality has taught me firstly that such a thing exists, and secondly we don’t really need to know how or if karma comes to visit those that have crossed us, because my doing this we miss the signs that karma is visiting us and showing us the way forward that will give us happiness.

A number of years ago I decided that I wanted to move to the UK, I have spent much of my adult life in Australia and craved the history, the cold weather and what I thought was the love and closeness that I was missing out on being so far away here in Australia.   My children are now all but grown, I was divorced and thought maybe I need to realise my dream myself.

So I packed up, took a contract with a well known company, in a town where I knew all of two people and thought it was my chance to change my life.

What followed was one disaster after another, it took me almost a year to realise that these disasters were pointing me towards the fact that I wasn’t in the place spirit wanted me to be, I wasn’t fulfilling myself and I wasn’t happy.

The contract I had left my life for ended abruptly, due to things beyond my control.

I was devastated, shortly afterwards I found a temp job and then was approached about a permanent position that was looking good to lead me to a way of life I wanted.

When the position was offered my son was in trouble back in Australia and I took the opportunity to fly back to make sure he was Ok and taken care of.   I remember sitting on the bed after I had packed for my return to the UK with a nagging feeling that I was making a huge mistake that I should remain in Australia.  I ignored this and flew back.

The next sign I received was the job didn’t turn out to be what It was supposed to be, 30 days after starting the job they decided to pull the pin on that area of the business.  This happened on my sons birthday.  Surely I should listen to this sign now?!!

Nope, I found another job within a week, lasted 3 weeks and realised I hated them as much as they hated me.   That one ended too.

At this stage I honestly looked at booking a flight back and packing up my flat.   I seriously wanted to, but I had no money, no car no home in Australia and it was going to so hard to start again.  I had to try and at least make it work.

So I got another job, I was sat on a step, enjoying the sunshine discussing the fact that it was Easter with a friend on the telephone when an opportunity came my way.  I attended the interview the day before I had to make a decision and low and behold I was offered the job there and then.

This job lasted 4 weeks when they realised the department I was heading was not tangible (I had to point this out to them) and I left them on the 20th May.

Was that my final sign?  4 jobs in a year?  I was unhappy? I missed and craved my children and I was not getting any support from anyone to survive my stay in the UK.

So I made my decision and within a week I was on a flight back to Australia.  I had no money, I had no home and was going to stay in the spare room of a friend’s house until I got on my feet.  I hated it, not them but I hated that I was there and I was all but destitute.

How could karma be teaching me something?

Within a week I had been offered a large contract that would take me one week, it was going to pay me enough money to pay the deposit on a new home and furnish it with new furniture.  Everything I needed, bedding, beds, sofa’s, white goods would all be mine and I would have a home.  It would also allow me to pay 6 months’ rent on the house.

I was able for the first time in years to have a home.  Shortly after that I got a job, the job I am still in now that has grown my friendships and my confidence.

Is this karma at play?  Yes I believe it is.

I have a friend Will, he is what I like to call as my spiritual guide.   He is blunt, to the point and works as a psychic.  He has never been wrong with me, maybe a year out with dates but never wrong.

He told me that spirit will push you to live authentically, if you don’t and you ignore the signs, if you let your ego rule you rather than doing what makes you happy you will suffer until you learn your lesson.

For instance, I have another friend, she is an amazing business woman, has 4 children and was married for many years.  Her and her husband sadly separated and she struggled with this.  She met a man who was around 7 years younger than her, he wasn’t highly educated like her, he was incredibly attractive, kind, considerate and thoughtful, everything her ex husband wasn’t and she struggled with this man wanting to be with her.  Her ego was telling her that to continue to be seen by her friends and relatives as a business woman, to be seen by those she works with as serious she would have to walk away from this love that engulfed her.   She told this man that she had no feelings for him, that she didn’t want to be with him and they split up.  She was unhappy, totally miserable for 12 months.  She was however convinced that she deserved someone in her life that had equal standing to her in society and that irrespective of this connection she couldn’t be seen with a man so young.  This was her ego speaking, not her.  She wanted to be with him, but felt that she could not.

In the end she gave in, she admitted her love for him, told him why she felt it couldn’t work and they talked.  They are now happily married and totally in love.  She told me recently that for the first time in her life she realised what she needed to make her happy and she felt complete.
By giving in and letting go of her ego, she found the happiness she deserved and is now living life to her full potential.

We all get these messages, whether it is being unhappy at work, hating the place we live in.  We have to listen to the signs.  If we don’t act upon them then we are setting ourselves up for more and more unhappiness and disappointment in this world.

Some people will lose a job, see it as a bad thing when in fact it is the perfect solution to bring them happiness.

People will lose friends and see it as a slight on them, but this is to bring them in people that serve them better.

Some people will never learn their lesson and allow their ego to rule their life decisions.  They deserve what they deserve and nothing less.  When in fact by failing to learn their lesson they don’t grow and find their real happiness.

I have learnt a huge amount about myself in the last few years.  Happiness comes from me, nobody else and allowing my ego to drive me meant that if someone treated me badly I felt bad.  Karma has paid me the visit I really needed and not in the way I thought it would.

I have learnt my lesson in life, and I am ready for the next phase!

How about you? What lessons is karma trying to teach you?

Leave a Reply

